x
Toggle Content Register or Login  -  October 17, 2017, 11:25 am
Toggle Content User Info
Toggle Content Main Menu
Toggle Content Last Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

Ambrogio Bianchi Birth Certificate - Rome/Ferentino
Last post by debbiemfit in Where do I begin? on Oct 14, 2017 at 15:28:01

Cardano al Campo, Italy
Last post by Seabreezes1 in Northern Italy on Oct 13, 2017 at 21:58:14

Muscatello
Last post by Biff83 in Southern Italy on Oct 11, 2017 at 15:22:57

Motta San Giovanni / Valanidi questions: please help!
Last post by PrimoMattino in Southern Italy on Oct 03, 2017 at 17:32:46

Motta San Giovanni / Valanidi questions: please help!
Last post by Italysearcher in Where do I begin? on Sep 24, 2017 at 18:25:31

Bastianelli Sant Elia Fiumerapido or Altina
Last post by Italysearcher in Central Italy on Sep 23, 2017 at 18:29:38

RESEACHING LUCIA NAPOLI DELIANOUVA
Last post by nuccia in Where do I begin? on Sep 22, 2017 at 06:13:48

Surname Serafini from Barga
Last post by Libby in Northern Italy on Sep 04, 2017 at 03:47:22

Sant'Elia Fiumerapido - De Filippis
Last post by Marchpatty in Central Italy on Aug 24, 2017 at 23:45:06

PUGLIESE OR VALEO
Last post by Biff83 in Central Italy on Aug 05, 2017 at 20:14:08

Toggle Content Help Support this Site
Please support GentediMareGenealogy
Help us by supporting the future development of this site, or simply to say thank you.
Toggle Content EStore
Community Forums › Memories and Guides › PC Info and Guides › FTM16 and Vista

     Forum FAQ   Search   Log in to check your private messages   Login  
FTM16 and Vista
For help with tech support and programs
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index PC Info and Guides Printer Friendly Page

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Poipu04
V.I.P.
V.I.P.


Joined: Jul 11, 2007
Posts: 984
Location: Connecticut

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:16 am    Post subject: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

I just started to set up my new computer. I loaded FTM16 and it said that it is not totally compatible with Vista and I would need to look for a patch to download. Well, it is going to be a while before I can log onto the internet from home because we still have to order DSL and right now I have no service (used to have dial up). I think we are going ot have a phone jack installed near the computer instead of going wireless. So I have to wait for the phone co. to schedule this. Is it ok if I use FTM in the meantime without the patch. Will anything really bad happen? I was able to open FTM and it looks fine to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
Gina501
V.I.P.
V.I.P.


Joined: Jul 10, 2007
Posts: 444
Location: Houston, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:52 am    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

Hi Lori. I loaded FTM 16 on my computer last week. I also have vista. I know you don't have internet yet, but when you do and you open FTM it will automatically take you to the site to download the patch. It took about 5 minutes to complete the whole process. It actually walks you through it. It was very simple and it works great, no problems. I am actually starting to really enjoy vista now. It's pretty advanced.

_________________
Gina
ignaziogenealogy.com

Searching surnames -
Graziano, Trella, Del Principe (AQ)
Ignazio, Biani, Della Valle, Scarani (PC)

Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Cathy
V.I.P.
V.I.P.


Joined: Jul 10, 2007
Posts: 2681

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:04 am    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

Poipu04 wrote:
I just started to set up my new computer. I loaded FTM16 and it said that it is not totally compatible with Vista and I would need to look for a patch to download. Well, it is going to be a while before I can log onto the internet from home because we still have to order DSL and right now I have no service (used to have dial up). I think we are going ot have a phone jack installed near the computer instead of going wireless. So I have to wait for the phone co. to schedule this. Is it ok if I use FTM in the meantime without the patch. Will anything really bad happen? I was able to open FTM and it looks fine to me.
You are going to love DSL once you get it. The difference between dial up and DSL is amazing - I will never go back!

_________________
Cathy
My Websites
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Poipu04
V.I.P.
V.I.P.


Joined: Jul 11, 2007
Posts: 984
Location: Connecticut

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:27 pm    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

I can't wait to have a high speed connection! I think my whole online experience will change for the better. So, in the meantime, can I use my FTM without the patch? Just a little bit....

_________________
www.celenzaheritage.com
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
Gina501
V.I.P.
V.I.P.


Joined: Jul 10, 2007
Posts: 444
Location: Houston, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:12 pm    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

you might have glitches...I would wait. It will be worth it.

_________________
Gina
ignaziogenealogy.com

Searching surnames -
Graziano, Trella, Del Principe (AQ)
Ignazio, Biani, Della Valle, Scarani (PC)

Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rfornal
Mod
Mod


Joined: Jul 09, 2007
Posts: 138
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:29 pm    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

With the type of information that you are dealing with, I would suggest waiting.

_________________
Bob Fornal
www.podcastgenealogy.com
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Poipu04
V.I.P.
V.I.P.


Joined: Jul 11, 2007
Posts: 984
Location: Connecticut

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 5:28 pm    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

Thanks, Bob and Gina. That is what my gut told me...but you know, I was being impatient and hoping I could "make do." I think you are the voice of reason and will "abstain" from using FTP until I get my internet connection up and running.

_________________
www.celenzaheritage.com
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
Cathy
V.I.P.
V.I.P.


Joined: Jul 10, 2007
Posts: 2681

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 5:37 pm    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

Poipu - When I moved I had mine up and running the same day - you may want to call them and find up what the hold up is. Don't they understand you have software to update and this forum to keep up with?!! lol

_________________
Cathy
My Websites
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Poipu04
V.I.P.
V.I.P.


Joined: Jul 11, 2007
Posts: 984
Location: Connecticut

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 9:53 am    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

Well, I think the problem is the two of us!!!! We have to be home for them to install the new phone jack and we leave for vacation next week and can't afford to take extra time from work before our vacation, so I have to wait, impatiently, until we return.

_________________
www.celenzaheritage.com
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
nuccia
Admin
Admin


Joined: Jul 10, 2007
Posts: 4364
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 3:25 pm    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

Well, like the others I suggest you wait. DSL is awesome..so much faster the dial up. Besides, if you are going on vacation anyways you will forget everything by the time you get back so i would wait anyways.

_________________
nuccia
Italian Surname Database

Calabria Exchange
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
wldspirit
V.I.P.
V.I.P.


Joined: Jul 10, 2007
Posts: 109
Location: Usa

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 10:38 am    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

Dsl is fantastic....with just a click you are there!!! No waiting for the screen to appear......because of our new location, I just went from Dsl back to dial up......it sucks!!!! neclord
Hoping they bring high speed out here to the boonies!!!
Lee
Back to top
View user's profile
rfornal
Mod
Mod


Joined: Jul 09, 2007
Posts: 138
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:08 am    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

I use high-speed cable, which is similar to DSL and generally slightly faster ... tied in with our cable service.

_________________
Bob Fornal
www.podcastgenealogy.com
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
nuccia
Admin
Admin


Joined: Jul 10, 2007
Posts: 4364
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 11:14 am    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

rfornal wrote:
I use high-speed cable, which is similar to DSL and generally slightly faster ... tied in with our cable service.

Bob,

Again I goofed. I also use high speed cable. Was on DSL and on dial up once several years ago but this is better. Mine is with Rogers Cable (as you probably know).

_________________
nuccia
Italian Surname Database

Calabria Exchange
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
wldspirit
V.I.P.
V.I.P.


Joined: Jul 10, 2007
Posts: 109
Location: Usa

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:09 am    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

Cable is even better than Dsl, my mom had it.....but we don't even have
cable out here.......most everybody has satellite tv.......I am going to check into the dish network, I think they may offer an internet package.

Lee
Back to top
View user's profile
Cathy
V.I.P.
V.I.P.


Joined: Jul 10, 2007
Posts: 2681

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:21 am    Post subject: Re: FTM16 and Vista Reply with quote

wldspirit wrote:
Cable is even better than Dsl, my mom had it.....but we don't even have
cable out here.......most everybody has satellite tv.......I am going to check into the dish network, I think they may offer an internet package.

Lee
No Cable? OMG!!! I have had cable since 1980 - I cannot imagine not having it. You should come by my place sometime - you can use my dsl connection in front of my cable tv!! I'll even cook for you (that, you may regret Confused ). If your not adventurous we can order pizza! Very Happy

_________________
Cathy
My Websites
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
  Page 1 of 2All times are GMT - 4 Hours

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index PC Info and Guides Printer Friendly Page

  
 
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum



Hosted By Site5.com
The logos and trademarks used on this site are the property of Gente di Mare Genealogy.
We are not responsible for comments posted by our users, as they are the opinions of the poster.
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy
TCD_ItalianGene © Gente di Mare Genealogy