Click Here to Print Page

Page Topic: Translation Please?
-> Translations

#1: Translation Please? Author: lilbeesLocation: Georgia, USA PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:44 pm
    ----
I just received this birth record for Maria Teresa Rescigno b. 27 Aug 1813. It looks like registry no. 96.

img3.imageshack.us/my....nobirt.jpg

Could someone translate it for me? It looks like Gennaro's age at this birth is 40?

Thank you,
lilbees

#2: Re: Translation Please? Author: nucciaLocation: Toronto, Ontario, Canada PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:32 pm
    ----
The image is small but I think it also looks like 40 and she was born August 26 at 19:00 hours(?). Her mother was 39 bit I can't make out the name. Looks like Siciliana Calobre...

Sorry but I am not very good at this. Embarassed

#3: Re: Translation Please? Author: uantitiLocation: Biella (Piedmont) and Venezia/Venice, Italy PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:25 pm
    ----
ACT NO. 96
27 august 1813 at 14.00 hours, commune of Rocca Piemonte, Gennaro Rescigno, age 40, declares that yesterday 26th of said month at 2 a.m., in said commune, Strada Casali (road to the farms), in his own house, from him and Cicilia Calabrese his legitimate wife years 39, a baby was born and was given the name MariaTeresa.

Sorry I put pieces together as I had to save the image and enlarge it. The name is written Cicilia, but the correct name in Italian should be Cecilia. Gennaro's occupation looks to me "Falegname" carpenter, but I'm not sure.

Ada

#4: Re: Translation Please? Author: uantitiLocation: Biella (Piedmont) and Venezia/Venice, Italy PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:47 pm
    ----
Actually the name looks Licilia but I suppose they meant Cecilia as I never heard Licilia before unless they meant Lucilla Question

Ada

#5: Re: Translation Please? Author: lilbeesLocation: Georgia, USA PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 6:50 pm
    ----
Nuccia thanks for your efforts for me.

Ada,