Click Here to Print Page

Page Topic: New m -research.Coluccio- Roccella Ionica- Cimino- Caulonia
-> About Us

#1: New m -research.Coluccio- Roccella Ionica- Cimino- Caulonia Author: lbosamonte PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:28 am
    ----
Hello,
Just joined the site and it looks great!
Sorry for Novel!!!!!
I am an amateur at genealogy so I am hoping I can receive a few pointers. My father’s grandparents had emigrated from Roccella Ionica ,RC Calabria in 1899 (Cimino, Giuseppe) and in 1900 (Coluccio, Maria Rosa). My father had always wanted to visit their hometown and at age 75 he was finally able to do so. As a gift for this trip, I had hired a local genealogist to do a little research for him. The genealogist had supplied my father with the marriage and birth certificate for his grandparents. First discrep. , he had the Cimino, Giuseppe was actually born in Caulonia, a neighboring town, which made sense. The second discrep. was that he was claiming the records for their marriage in Rocella Ionica on 28 January 1897, reflected Giuseppe married a Maria Teresa Coluccio. My father was insisting this was a mistake that his grandmother’s name was Maria Rosa. The genealogist stood by his records.
When my father finally went to Roccella Ionica, he discovered at the town hall that there actually might have been a double wedding on that day for two sisters, hence the confusion. As his Italian is not that great; He still has a lot of questions. Does anyone have access to these records? He is interested in confirming this discovery, Info on the other sister, Maria Teresa and the other groom? Or perhaps if either one of them had children in Italy. If anyone has any suggestions, I would appreciate it.
Laura

#2: Re: New m -research.Coluccio- Roccella Ionica- Cimino- Caulonia Author: nucciaLocation: Toronto, Ontario, Canada PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 6:26 am
    ----
Hi Laura,