Click Here to Print Page

Page Topic: Help with deciphering / translating birth record
-> Translations

#1: Help with deciphering / translating birth record Author: JB5150Location: Florida PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:10 am
    ----
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here-- Carole gave me the link to this site from the expatsin italy site, and this looks like just what I need!

I've finally gotten a copy of my great grandfather's birth record from Modica, but I'm having a very, very hard time making out a lot of the handwritten words on the certificate. Some things like dates and names I can make out, but I'm clueless on some of the longer handwritten phrases. I was hoping that someone who is more familiar with the Italian language and might know what types of things would be written on a birth record could take a look at this one and let me know if they can figure out any of the words. Anyone up for the challenge? I've posted a scan of the record at http://www.atomicagefilms.com/images/salvatore.birth.copy.jpg

Any help would be greatly appreciated-- thanks!!

#2: Re: Help with deciphering / translating birth record Author: liviomorenoLocation: Rome (Italy) PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:38 am
    ----
"On 9-28-1979, in front of me, Salvadore Nativo, mayor of Modica, came Antonino Barone, 40 ears old, farmer, resident in this town, and he told me that at 1:00am of 9-28, in the house situated in Via San Francesco d'Assisi 25, his wife Maria di Raimondo had a child, male, named Salvadore.
Witnesses to this declaration are Giorgio Giurdanella and Orazio Pulino.
This act was read to the attendees and signed only by me (salvadore Nativo) because the other people are illiterate."

On the right side it says that Salvadore Barone married (civil marriage) Giovanna Scarso, daughter of Giorgio, on April 22, 1905, in Modica. The registration nr is 123